Thursday, 1 December 2011

Schumacher vs Button In Race Of Champions

Michael Schumacher and Jenson Button have been drawn to face each-other in the group stages for the Race Of Champions this weekend in Düsseldorf, Germany. The annual event is a tournament where some of the world’s best drivers face each-other through a series of head-to-head races in identical cars on a parallel track. World champion Sebastian Vettel will face Lotus Renault driver Vitaly Petrov, GP2 champion Romain Grosjean and 8-time Le Mans 24-Hour race winner, Tom Kristensen. Each driver faces each of the others in their group and those with the most wins move on to the quarter-finals. From the quarter finals on it's a knockout tournament.

Group A
Filipe Albuquerque, DTM driver & reigning ROC Champion of Champions
Andy Priaulx, World Touring Car 3 time Champion
David Coulthard, 13 Formula 1 race wins
Travis Pastrana, Rally America 4 time winner & X-Games legend

Group B
Mattias Ekstrom, DTM driver & triple ROC Champion of Champions
Martin Tomczyk, 2011 DTM Champion
Jan Kopecky, Intercontinental Rally Challenge 3 time runner-up
Sébastien Ogier, 5 WRC rally wins in 2011

Group C
Michael Schumacher, 7 time Formula 1 World Champion
Jenson Button, 2009 Formula 1 World Champion
Brian Deegan, 13 X-games medals including Rally Cross gold in 2011
Juho Hanninen, 2011 S-WRC champion & 2010 IRC champion

Group D
Sebastian Vettel, 2010 & 2011 Formula 1 World Champion
Tom Kristensen, 8 time Le Mans 24-Hour race winner
Vitaly Petrov, Formula 1 driver for Lotus Renault GP
Romain Grosjean, 2011 GP2 Champion

The tournament begins on Saturday evening with the Race Of Champions Nations Cup. Schumacher and Vettel will be aiming for a fifth consecutive title together for Team Germany.

Group A
Team France (Sébastien Ogier & Romain Grosjean)
Team Nordic (Tom Kristensen & Juho Hanninen)
Team USA (Travis Pastrana & Brian Deegan)
SAT1 Team Germany 2 (Timo Glock & Timo Scheider)

Group B
Team Germany (Michael Schumacher & Sebastian Vettel)
Team Slavic (Vitaly Petrov & Jan Kopecky)
Team Great Britain (Jenson Button & Andy Priaulx)
Team All Stars (David Coulthard & Filipe Albuquerque)

Race Of Champions Online Coverage & Program

 Race Of Champions Website

Powered by Blogger