Saturday, 10 December 2011

Dan Wheldon Memorial Kart Race Video

Video clip of the two-hour endurance go-kart race to honor two-time Indianapolis 500 winner and former IndyCar Champion, Dan Wheldon. The event was held on a cold night at Daytona Milton Keynes on Monday 5th December.

Pro drivers taking part included Jenson Button, Dario Franchitti, Anthony Davidson, David Coulthard, Guy Smith, Jonny Kane, Rob Huff, James Hinchcliffe, Johnny Herbert, Marino Franchitti, Martin Brundle, Alex Brundle, Mike Conway, Derek Hayes, Adam Carroll, Chris Buncombe, Richard Dean, Steven Kane, Sam Hancock, Luke Hines, Marc Hynes, Nic Minassian, James Rossiter, Peter Dumbreck, Richard Lyons, Sam Bird, Duncan Tappy, James Thompson, Tom Sisley, Ollie Hancock and Danny Watts.

There was a 'pay for penalties' aspect to the race that allowed drivers to bribe officials into handing out penalties to their rivals, which helped toward raising £20,000 for the Alzheimer's Society. Through talent or bribes or maybe a bit of both, Button with co-driver Clive Wheldon, Dan's father won the race. Franchitti finished second with co-driver Holly Wheldon, Dan's sister.

Powered by Blogger